14 Interesting Kangaroo Facts

Along with koalas, kangaroos are some of Australia’s most popular animals. Many tourists come to see them in their natural habitat. If you’re fascinated by these creatures, have a look at our kangaroo facts.

The family a kangaroo comes from is called Macropodidae. This is made of various other marsupials. Out of these, kangaroos have the largest bodies.

Here’s our top interesting facts about kangaroos:

  1. there are 3 kangaroo species whose population is know:
  2. as with other animals, a smallest and a largest kangaroo exist. The former is the Musky Rat-Kangaroo. The exact size of this species: 6-8 inches (15.24-20.32 cm). That’s not counting its 5-6 inches (12.7-15.24 cm) tail. As for this marsupial’s weight, we’re talking of 12 ounces (340 grams). The Red Kangaroo is the largest at 3.25-5.25 feet (1-1.6 meters). Weight is 200 lbs (90 kilograms);
  3. 4 main kangaroo species have been reported. They’re as follows: the Red Kangaroo (Macropus rufus), the Antilopine Kangaroo (Macropus antilopinus), the Western Grey Kangaroo (Macropus fuliginosus), and the Eastern Grey Kangaroo (Macropus giganteus). All of them have this popular name: the great kangaroos;
  4. a kangaroo is very easy to recognize from a sea of other animals. It has a pair of ears which are pointed. This marsupial is also the owner of a tail; this is very muscular and it helps males during fights. It also becomes great help while they eat their favorite foods. The fur on their bodies is short. The arms are smaller compared to their feet and legs. The latter are really strong. A female kangaroo has something known as a “pouch”. This is only found in marsupials. The pouch is the place where mammary glands are located. After an offspring is born, it will remain in that pouch for a period of time;


    The Red Kangaroo (Macropus rufus)

  5. the Red Kangaroo (otherwise known as Macropus rufus) has a population of 8,351,000;
  6. the Western Grey Kangaroo (or Macropus fuliginosus) has a population of 1,774,000 individuals;
  7. the Eastern Grey kangaroo (Latin name is Macropus giganteus) has 8,978,000 members;
  8. the habitat of a kangaroo is made of Australia, then Tasmania and New Guinea. These are the only three places you’ll find them in. The Grey kangaroo, for one, loves living in forests. Other species prefer savannas and the woodland. Then there are kangaroos which feel at home in grassy plains;
  9. kangaroos eat a variety of food items. These can include grass, insects, and leaves. Others feed on flowers, moss, and ferns. The feeding process of a kangaroo resembles that of a cow. Which means that they regurgitate what they’ve recently eaten, then chew it once more;
  10. as for water, not drinking for many weeks or months is perfectly fine;
  11. you won’t find solitary kangaroos. This fascinating marsupial likes to live in a group. These are known as troop or herd. Kangaroo groups are also called mobs. Living like this is great for many reasons. One of them: protection against various predators. Another advantage: grooming time!
  12. moving around is done via hopping. That’s why kangaroos have those large and strong feet. By performing one hop, a kangaroo is able to cover some 15 feet (7 m). They can also hop at a speed of 30 mph (meaning 48 kph);
  13. a male kangaroo has the following name: boomer. Other synonyms are these: jack and buck. The female is called a doe. Other words for it are jill and flyer. Pregnancy for a doe is 21-38 days. 1-4 offspring will be born once gestation period is over; 4 babies are rare, though. The baby’s name is joey. Its size is very small. To have a mental picture of that: think of a lima bean or a grain of rice. The joey will slowly move to its mother’s pouch after it’s been born. It will remain there around 4 months-1 year and 3 months;
  14. a kangaroo’s baby feeds on milk. The joey will reach maturity at 2-4 years in the case of males. A female baby becomes mature when she’s 14-20 months. The Red List of Threatened Species made by the IUCN has the Rat-kangaroo at the near threatened, threatened, vulnerable, endangered or critically endangered level. The same is reported about the Tree-kangaroo. The 4 most important great kangaroo species are in no danger yet. Some extinct species: the Nullarbor dwarf bettong and the desert rat-kangaroo;

We also have some fun facts about kangaroos:

  • a female kangaroo is able to know its joey’s gender. If the latter is in danger of not surviving because of negative environment causes, the mother will postpone gestation;
  • kangaroos can swim;
  • “kangaroo” comes from “gangurru”, which means “grey kangaroo” in Guugu Yimithirr (an Australian Aboriginal language);
  • James Cook is the one who has recorded the “kangaroo” as “Kanguru” or “Kangooroo” in 1770;
  • the kangaroo is one of the symbols used on Australia’s coat of arms (the other animal is the emu);
  • kangaroos feed either in the afternoon or at night. During the day it’s too hot for them to do that;
  • these marsupials hear very well;
  • their eyesight is good, but the only thing they can see well is a moving object;
  • a mob can have up to 100 kangaroos;
  • male kangaroos give off a very strong smell which is similar to that of curry;
  • Western grey kangaroos are the loudest species.

That’s all on today’s facts about kangaroos. Hope you had fun reading them!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

We use cookies to personalise content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyse our traffic. We also share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. More Info | Close